1Q84

Sitting in my reading room at my home, I am currently listening to Leoš Janácek’s Sinfonietta. (Youtube) This song seems to be composed in 1926. I’ve never heard about this until last week. The music is extremely good. The first time I heard about this song was when the protagonist of the book that I started reading last saturday was listening to this song, when stuck in a traffic jam. I don’t think this would be a good song to hear in a traffic jam.

Coming to the book, 1Q84 (Amazon) written by Haruki Murakami is a brilliant book. The book probably could’ve been condensed to two-third of its size. But, the book kept my attention throughout. Not the kind of page-turner thriller that one would want to read on a saturday night, but rather a serious (and a tad philosophical) kind of literature that requires one to contemplate what the author is trying to say(and in some cases, what the author is trying not to say).

I still can’t believe that I’ve finished reading the book. This has been my first book by Haruki Murakami. It thoroughly captivated me. I am unable to read anything today – many different images from the book has been coming to me. I took a short nap in the afternoon; ended up dreaming about the Little People. The pace of the book is slow. But the feeling I got reading the book has been splendid. I am considering reading Haruki Murakami’s other books.

Good start to the year, I would think !

 

 

Leave a Reply

